Angus* Vision

Image

World’s End Pub, Royal Mile, Edinburgh.

 

It’s been prettified

Raw rock from Edinburgh’s past gnarled

And chipped to offset the gaudy, uniform leather-

Opposite is The World’s End pub;

You were debating imagery then the Gulf War

That was when I was here last and I saw you last.

An undergraduate when I read your introduction to

Great Expectations-held in its Penguin casing

                        I hear

Bitter comments over malt, I think, now

In Fife-everywhere (nae Morningside) how

Dickensian food banks grow like a shine on Eton

Boys’ Buttons.

I drink up and heid for the book launch.

 

Angus Calder, Historian, Critic, Poet 5.02.42-5.06.08

Leave a Reply

